• 💖 [Donate To Keep MyPTSD Online] 💖 Every contribution, no matter how small, fuels our mission and helps us continue to provide peer-to-peer services. Your generosity keeps us independent and available freely to the world. MyPTSD closes if we can't reach our annual goal.

Shall I Cut Off Ties From My Toxic Family Forever?? Please Help!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

J_trustno1

MyPTSD Pro
Myself: I am a female in mid 20s. I have been in depression since I was 16 yrs old (first time when i was diagnosed) and been suffering from it for the past 10 yrs. The reasons: molested at the age of 9 by mothers brother-in-law. My father always put me down and I was never good enough no matter how hard I studied, he abused my mother for being less educated so we moved overseas when I was 12. Mothers relatives (her narcissistic brother n sister) forced me to work at the age of 12. Was always taunted by relatives about everything: weight, looks, height, teeth, hair anything you name it. Mothers sister forced me to wax my hair, even beat me and had to cook for her and family while mother was at work. Her narcissistic brother verbally abused me and sometimes never paid me for working at his restaurant (8 + hrs ). My mother never stood up to them because she felt that she was in-debt to them for bringing us to this country.

I have been diagnosed with PTSD and major depression. However, I react to every little criticism I get from people. I take things too personally and sometimes I get too upset about things that I lose sleep and start feeling that I don't deserve to live. I cry for hours continuously and nothing on earth can stop it. This is actually affecting my ability to live life happily. I can't even take a joke, I just have trouble brushing things off. I show emotions to quickly and have been getting into trouble because of my emotions. I am actually finding it hard to live.