• 💖 [Donate To Keep MyPTSD Online] 💖 Every contribution, no matter how small, fuels our mission and helps us continue to provide peer-to-peer services. Your generosity keeps us independent and available freely to the world. MyPTSD closes if we can't reach our annual goal.

Talking To Therapist About Self Harm

Status
Not open for further replies.

ellienad

Confident
(Possible self harm trigger warning)
I'm new to discussing self harm with my therapist, as I just recently started talking about it with her. For those of you who have experience discussing it with your therapist, I was wondering if anyone could clarify from experience some reasoning behind her questions.

She first asked the location. This is one pretty self explanatory I guess. She then asked how often/how frequently. Again, this is pretty self explanatory, and I would assume to also assess my safety? The question that confused me a bit though was when she asked about the direction/way in which I cut (ie, straight lines, all over, across each other, etc). I guess the direction and way I cut could give some meaning to my mindset behind it? For example, straight lines in a row would be a need for gaining control and order, etc. I'm not sure...

Since, again, I'm new to discussing SH with my T, I would just like some input I guess from anyone else who has discussed it with their T. I've heard about therapists asking to see self harm as well...mine hasn't, but I'm afraid she's going to and I wouldn't know what to do! Thanks in advance.

My T doesn't ask to see anything.

She probably is just asking a question to get motivation or what you get from it. She also probably wants to know if you are getting what you need from it - I.e. You'd be at greater risk for continuing the behavior because it's being reinforced.

For instance scratching haphazardly in the moment because it's all you have access to May not be as effective for you as cutting in straight lines.