• 💖 [Donate To Keep MyPTSD Online] 💖 Every contribution, no matter how small, fuels our mission and helps us continue to provide peer-to-peer services. Your generosity keeps us independent and available freely to the world. MyPTSD closes if we can't reach our annual goal.

The venting of an infantryman

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

MP7

So, I am Uber depressed. I’m a Infantry combat vet 6 Year’s out of active duty and still can’t adjust. I don’t feel like I have a mission to keep me going. I used to be an athlete and I trained for the game. I was a Soldier and I trained for war.

Now I can’t seem to get it together. I’ve been faking it for a long long time and everyonce in a while I just shut down. I’m there now and those episodes are getting more frequent. I spoke with a mental health therapist with the VA and while applying for an increase read her notes... Fukk that women. I’m so pissed off at her interpretation of my thoughts and answers I’ve lost faith in the VA mental health system. My grunt brothers will understand this, but i want to throat punch those pretentious *insert imagitive expletive*.

Now I feel like I can’t trust anyone, at all. To increase the fukkedupness, I have 4 kids under 7, wife, new house, stressful job, debt I can’t get out of, I don’t like people but fake like I do so as to appear normal, prefer alcohol as my medication of choice (no it has not interfered with any of the aforementioned but acts more as a balm... so far), am broke as shit physically from multiple surgeries while on AD even though I retain all my limbs, gained freaking 75# post service, and i decided to use my Post 9/11 for a PhD... WTF?!?!