• 💖 [Donate To Keep MyPTSD Online] 💖 Every contribution, no matter how small, fuels our mission and helps us continue to provide peer-to-peer services. Your generosity keeps us independent and available freely to the world. MyPTSD closes if we can't reach our annual goal.

Trigger?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Smile

MyPTSD Pro
I hope I'm posting in the right forum... Didn't see one specifically for triggers. I'm pretty new to the wonderful (yes, sarcasm) world of ptsd. From everything patched together so far, the T's & psychiatrists have been able to feel comfortable concluding that something traumatic happened to me wen I was young. I don't have any memories. My only clue to figuring this out is my recurring nightmare, disturbing dreams in general and what affects my panic attacks.

At first I thought this Wouk be possible because I'm constantly having panic attacks but lately, with the help of my new T, I've been able to make very very slight progress in isolating certain situations.

Which comes to my main issue. I have always been petrified of my ex-brother-in-law. He married my sister when I was 3 so was in my life for quite a while. Now, I've moved to a city where my niece (same sisters daughter) lives with her husband and 2 1/2 kids. Her husband reminds me soooo much of her father. Seeing him gives me panic attacks that take days to get over. I have to have a shot of some sort of alcohol before going into their house and take an extra dose of meds.

But I love my niece and her children. I WANT to spend time with them.

Any ideas on how to protect myself?

Thank you and hope your all having a wonderful day :)

Meet up with them away from her house and husband for now. Arrange to meet up for coffee or at a park or something like that. Invite your niece to come to you instead of going to her.