• 💖 [Donate To Keep MyPTSD Online] 💖 Every contribution, no matter how small, fuels our mission and helps us continue to provide peer-to-peer services. Your generosity keeps us independent and available freely to the world. MyPTSD closes if we can't reach our annual goal.

Trying to identify my triggers

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm feeling safe in my home environment for the first time ever. I'm speaking to one therapist (phone sessions) that I've been working with for 6 years and I've started seeing a therapist in person; trying to transition. My history hasn't been processed because there hasn't been stability where I can work through stuff. The long term therapist and i have basically been doing crisis management. I can't count the times I lost housing, employment, social support, or were in abusive relationships over the last 6 years.
The new therapist hasn't even scratched the surface, but I feel like I'm understanding what's happening to me more than I ever have.
From 10/2016- present my symptoms have been uncontrollably glaring, due to re traumatization from various sources. Im finally seeing what complex trauma is and how I'm affected.
That being said; I've stabilized significantly in the last month. I do force myself to disassociate at work (I work with trauma victims) to make it through each shift. I am leaving that job because I'm trying to learn how to make myself my priority.
Anyway, there's been a lot of depersonalization at home. And I don't know what triggers it. It takes me a while to notice it. It usually sets in when I look in the mirror and I know it's my reflection, but I can not integrate the feeling that it's me.
I hear it's because I do feel safe enough to start looking at stuff. I have been having lots of new and. Intense feelings.
I guess I'm looking for suggestions on how to track my symptoms to see what my triggers are.

Thanks !