• 💖 [Donate To Keep MyPTSD Online] 💖 Every contribution, no matter how small, fuels our mission and helps us continue to provide peer-to-peer services. Your generosity keeps us independent and available freely to the world. MyPTSD closes if we can't reach our annual goal.

Trying to understand affirmations

Status
Not open for further replies.

A little lost

Confident
I am struggling with trying to counteract what I've been told are 'negative scripts that I've been conditioned to believe'
Someone told me that I should look in a mirror and tell myself daily positive things that are the direct opposite to these negative 'beliefs' that are so ingrained.
I struggle with every aspect of doing this tbh. Looking myself in the eyes (in a mirror) is very difficult anyway. Self-praise is something that really doesn't sit well with me and feels just plain wrong, possibly a result of what I've been told was 'conditioning'. I'm not very good with the jargon so please excuse me if I use incorrect terms.
I have tried just telling myself the affirmations even without the mirror....but I just feel stupid doing it.
I am persevering with it even though it just feels like a load of hogwash...I mean I could tell myself the sky is purple, but it wouldn't make it true or end up getting me to believe it.

Does this actually ever work for anyone please? I have no idea how to move forward with this at all.

I have worked a ton with belief systems (or programs) that I have taken on during my lifetime. They are hard to bust down. They coloured so many basic things I did or thought about. At the bottom of these systems there are feeling and emotions. Words come after the feelings and emotions shift.