• 💖 [Donate To Keep MyPTSD Online] 💖 Every contribution, no matter how small, fuels our mission and helps us continue to provide peer-to-peer services. Your generosity keeps us independent and available freely to the world. MyPTSD closes if we can't reach our annual goal.

News We Are All Rambo

• Thread starter Deleted member 487
  • Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
D

Deleted member 487

Long time ago I worked as a reporter at a small paper that started up. The pay sucked, but since I love to write, it was a perfect job for me. I initially started with a section on food quality. I named it "Them Vittles". People that read it like it, the restaurants didn't. Really amazed me after a couple months I go into a restaurant to eat, like a normal person, and they think I'm writing crap about them and expecting free food! Nope, I always paid my way in a restaurant. The shitty cooks just don't like the criticism that costs them their jobs, and then my reputation grew...it was a nightmare after 3 months.

So I ended up doing editorial comments. Restaurants chilled out, and life got better. Kinda.

So now fast forward 15 years, here I am in an e-mail list and one of the members makes a quip about me NOT being a "prepper" but instead a "survivalist". same damned thing, I just don't sugar coat it and fluff up the damned name. But she really pissed me off calling me "Rambo".

So I wrote a small snippet about it, mad at her, and then wrote a full piece an hour later. Here it is and I'm asking for some serious insight on this.

Since I last wrote for a paper i had to deal with several serious head injuries, and with that I lost some of my skills. Including writing. So at least I'm trying.

Here it is.

We are all Rambo
by C. Kem
December 3rd, 2014

I am a survivalist.

I will not call myself a "prepper", to me that is the "soccer mom definition" of EXACTLY what I am- a survivalist.