1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The Daily Dose

Get the last 24hrs of new topics delivered to your inbox.

Click Here to Subscribe

What is it Like Being a College Student With PTSD?

Discussion in 'General' started by Anna5, Sep 30, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Anna5

Anna5 Active Member

I am a college student and have PTSD. I find going to school challenging and have special accommodation. I just want to find out from others what there experience is like. I know I am not the only one facing the challenges of going to college and have PTSD.

For my english class I am doing an investigation paper on PTSD in young, college-age students.

What is your experiences/challenges you face going to college?

Does the college you are going to make special accommodation for you?

What specific aspects of PTSD affect a college student?

Any information that you have will be helpful.

Also what questions would a general, college educated people have about PTSD? In my paper I have to an investigator coming up with the who, what, where, when and how question and then answer them. Having the common sense questions, would help drive my paper.

2. Register to participate in live chat, PTSD discussion and more.
  3. becvan

becvan Queen of the Blunt! Premium Member

Hi anna, welcome to the forum.

I made it through college but had to drop out of University. I think where you are at in the healing process makes all the difference. I was in denial while I was in college but had just started healing and therapy in University.

All aspects of PTSD affect everything IMHO. Also Not many people can even get a proper diagnosis to have special accommodations. It took twenty years to get mine.

There are many students on the forum though. I'm sure you will get lot's of replies.

bec