• 💖 [Donate To Keep MyPTSD Online] 💖 Every contribution, no matter how small, fuels our mission and helps us continue to provide peer-to-peer services. Your generosity keeps us independent and available freely to the world. MyPTSD closes if we can't reach our annual goal.

Why Don't I Have Any Memories? Did Something Happen?

Status
Not open for further replies.

gracieanne

New Here
Hey yall, this is my first time posting anything or telling anyone but my really good friend, so please bear with me. Although I'm in mid highschool and should be able to remember, i can't remember anything from until i was 8-9 years old. From there things are pretty hazy until around 10 or 11. I used to think that was from my father leaving when i was 3 and then finally 5. My mother (who i live with now), has always been nice and a little on the demanding side and is always open in talking about things of the past. The odd thing about my parents is that they didn't separate until last month, and I would always see my father every weekend or whenever he was around because he went on lots of business trips. This peculiar situation was considered taboo to talk about it with him until last year when he wanted a divorce. My mother says that when he first left i was angry all the time and always had some level of irritation, and she always tried to tell me that she loved me unconditionally. My dad and I talk now about his leaving now and although its uncomfortable, we make it work.
The main thing though is that i don't remember anyone in my life. i don't remember my mother, father, or younger sister who was born that year. I don't even remember what i was like! Its like those memories are gone and have changed into a black hole.