Almost a Year Unemployed

whiteraven

MyPTSD Pro
I started crying yesterday around 2 and cried non-stop until 6. Even with my current financial situation, I don't in any way regret quitting my job in March. That said, I have never been in this bad of shape before. My mortgage and student loan are on hold, and I am struggling to pay anything else. And most days, I am so depressed I just can't do anything. I'm sleeping long hours, and I'm sitting.

I *have* been working on my 2nd website (for freelance work) and I've also been creating presentations (something I've never done before) for my journaling workshops. But it all feels like "busy work." Like it won't matter and I won't ever use either.

Who else is struggling without work...still?

Hi. Yeah, it's 12 months without work for me too and ugh it's been a challenging time. The first 6 months were a nightmare, but after that my finacial situation stabilised a bit, and I was sort of grateful I didn't have to work during the pandemic and so could isolate better and not risk catching Covid. But it's been really hard without work as a distraction and a source of accomplishment. I'm thinking of applying for a vocational re-training course in 6 months time, but feeling quite ambivalent about it atm. I'm grateful the stress and pressure of the first 6 months has eased, and I'm trying to use this time to re-group and start over and to do therapy more intensely. It's been such a weird year tho. I can definitely say that pandemics are bad for mental health. It's felt very Ground-Hog-Day-ish, doing the same stuff over and over and feeling like I'll go nuts with it. And it feels like all my plans are cancelled and I'm having trouble properly envisioning a future, even though logically I know that's ridiculous. I dunno what to say other than yeah, I'm still going through it too and I'm sorry you are too. It's rough.

whiteraven

MyPTSD Pro