• 💖 [Donate To Keep MyPTSD Online] 💖 Every contribution, no matter how small, fuels our mission and helps us continue to provide peer-to-peer services. Your generosity keeps us independent and available freely to the world. MyPTSD closes if we can't reach our annual goal.

Discouraged

Status
Not open for further replies.

LostGirl

New Here
I'm just feeling so discouraged, that my life is so purposeless, even though I have a husband and 2 daughters and I'm studying to become a social worker. The fact that I cannot feel connected to people close to me is depressing, and it seems such a long way to recover. I'm trying to work on (with my therapist) connecting with myself and all the various parts I have inside, and even that is so difficult. And it's not exactly the kind of stuff I can talk about with most people. So, I guess it's kind of lonely, too. I'm glad to have found this forum, and I'm hoping it will help me get through.

Hey LostGirl,
I know exactly what your feeling. I have spent years feeling discouraged and not connecting with anyone. Sometimes I go through life in fog, no emotion just trying make it through another day. Keep working with your T and hang in there. I have found some comfort in just reading through the many posts on this site.

Take care

Sandy

Hi LG and welcome to the forum.

I related so strongly with your post. I've always felt like a failure, regardless of external circumstances or external achievements. "The fact that I cannot feel connected..." said it exactly for me - why I could never "feel my life". It's why, regardless of events or relationships, I felt empty and barren and...disconnected.

You are not alone. I can tell you that it can and does get better. And yeah, it's a hell of a lot of work, damn it. Sometimes I have to get mad about that and just be mad until I don't need to be mad (or sad) anymore.