1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Fear of authorities, sirens, vans...

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous' started by Bibine, Jun 16, 2018.

1. Bibine

Bibine Member

There must be a more ancient origin to this, but I have very big fear of the authorities. In 2011 I learned that my mom, aunt and grandmom were in a concentration camp, and I am aware that since childhood, even though nobody talked about this, I had images, and irrational fear of police, soldiers, authorities' violence, administrative violence, etc.

In 2011, I got arrested for wearing a funny t-shirt, the wrong place, the wrong date, together with some friends. It was surreal (no, not in the USA). They kept us for 6 or 7 hours in a little cell, deprived of all our personal stuff and our dignity. None of us had a record or actually done something. I was a respectable teacher and parent and would never have thought this could happen to me, totally out of the blue: talking with a friend, I suddenly felt a hand on my shoulder, and they cuffed me. For years I was afraid of sirens, vans, uniforms.

Then lately I went through an immigration procedure. Authorities came to check our status, and went into our most private intimacy, in all kinds of ways: home visits, auditions with dozens of very personal questions.. One of the people who did this was very abusive and intimidating, when they came to our home but also later, on the phone: shouting at us, yelling that they didn't believe us, that they said "NO" to our file.

Meanwhile, everything is ok: our file got cleared, we have our papers, we have our freedom, because all the inquiries were positive, and we have not done anything wrong, not in this country or in any other.