• 💖 [Donate To Keep MyPTSD Online] 💖 Every contribution, no matter how small, fuels our mission and helps us continue to provide peer-to-peer services. Your generosity keeps us independent and available freely to the world. MyPTSD closes if we can't reach our annual goal.

Freelance writers/editors/proofreaders/tutors?

Status
Not open for further replies.

RussellSue

Not Active
I know that I read on myptsd that more than one person was freelance writing/editing/proofreading. Would you mind raising your hands again?? I promise not to be an internet jerk but I have some questions about how you navigate the wide, wide world of freelancing with this fragmented condition.

Also, are there any virtual English or writing tutors on here? Again, I'm curious and may have some questions.

I'm an English major from many years ago. Nowadays, I'm a scientist who writes papers and edits/proofreads all the papers produced by my group. I'll raise my hand for editing/proofreading/possibly tutoring!

Thank you both. I should have had the word "freelance" in the title, I think.

I have 50+ graduate credits in writing and English and have decided to seriously pursue freelance writing/editing/proofreading work now that we are done relocating for a while. I also may try to tutor but that would likely be harder for me due to the people factor.

I was a covid layoff in April and started taking freelance writing classes to understand the business side of that with hopes to get serious but we started moving around in July. Now I am thinking about it again but I have a lot of fears that mostly pertain to the freelance aspect. For instance, how can a person with a mental illness handle all that rejection?? And can I find a safe way to social network without feeling like inauthentic or perhaps even paranoid? I tend to feel like a fraud no matter what - I'm not even sure if it's a PTSD thing, but it's definitely a mental health thing.