• 💖 [Donate To Keep MyPTSD Online] 💖 Every contribution, no matter how small, fuels our mission and helps us continue to provide peer-to-peer services. Your generosity keeps us independent and available freely to the world. MyPTSD closes if we can't reach our annual goal.

How to deal with anxiety from being in the place it happened?

Status
Not open for further replies.
T

Trigger place

I was sexually assaulted by my ex in my home. I'm a college student who dorms out of state. Now with virus I'm forced to be home due to quarantine. How do I deal with the anxiety and all the rest of the emotions while being in the place it happened? What can I do to help with this trigger?

Not the same but I get triggered every day before I start work because of part of the screening process, and other things throughout the day. If I think of something I'll come back. :(

Welcome to you @Trigger Place.

Since I live where I was assaulted for years (ssh, shuffling that stalking nonsense to past tense works better)...

I would mind either activities you are doing Now - so minding literally everything but the place itself *and* affirming your own sense of agency, instead of helplessness...

Or things that can be reclaimed, made yours and changes to, or that changed with the place itself through time.

As it's not really the same place you were assaulted, before. Time took that one away.

As it's not really the same place you were assaulted, before. Time took that one away.
I love this, Ro.

Welcome, @Trigger place :)

I would try using sensory cues to remind yourself that while you may be there, you're not back there.
-smell : scented candles (if sensitivity isn't a thing for you) if there weren't any back then, or changing them out/removing them if there were back then
-sound : a favourite trick of mine is playing songs that have been released since my assault >> I can't be back there, because this song literally didn't exist back then