• 💖 [Donate To Keep MyPTSD Online] 💖 Every contribution, no matter how small, fuels our mission and helps us continue to provide peer-to-peer services. Your generosity keeps us independent and available freely to the world. MyPTSD closes if we can't reach our annual goal.

How to have a job, and work when you've hidden from the world?

Status
Not open for further replies.

lizbeth27

Learning
Hi,

This is a complicated question, and there are many facets to it, not least how to get somewhere when you can't seem to want anything and have lost yourself, and when keeping and maintaining a job is extremely stressful even for mentally well people.

I'm in my late twenties and haven't had a 'proper', full time job ever. There, I said it. I don't want to let this situation get any worse, and become fully lost in the wilderness.

I am currently very held back by c-ptsd symptoms and other things. I'm studying for a degree now, from home, but the wait when I'm trying to get good treatment is jeopardising my work.

I have no idea what I really want to do right now because I have no idea who I am and all I can think about is wanting to be able to, for example, get milk from the corner shop without having to deal with constant terror, dissociation and weirdness.

WHere do I start -- how can I break this down?

I am working on that right now. So incredibly difficult. I feel like I am balancing on a tight rope over shark infested waters. And I was well employed most of my life. I can't imagine having to go through this at 20 something without solid evidence that I have been capable.

I think often of young people going through this and how much harder it would be for them. I am so sorry you are going through this. So yeah, just encouragement, no real ideas. Still working on those for myself.

Thank you so much for being understanding -- it's a sensitive issue, isn't it? You have all my support -- good luck. :)