• 💖 [Donate To Keep MyPTSD Online] 💖 Every contribution, no matter how small, fuels our mission and helps us continue to provide peer-to-peer services. Your generosity keeps us independent and available freely to the world. MyPTSD closes if we can't reach our annual goal.

I don't know what to think (or do)

Status
Not open for further replies.

ImFuktUp

New Here
I'm not good at typing things out, because I don't know where to start, but I'll try.....and I'll do my best to keep it short.

I'm 43.
I've lived a pretty messed up life with my "family" from as far back as I can remember, it was a highly dysfunctional one. "Parents" separated from birth, I was the only child and in the middle of those 2 idiots constantly fighting and using me as their proxy.

Fast forward to 22 years of age (after living with my "father" at this point for 6 years), he's an alcoholic and approaching mid-life (49 years of age) with a lot of personal issues with his mother and sister (money and lots of it, we're talking millions).
So his own mother screws him out of splitting an 8 million fortune between him and his sister.
I become his punching bag at home, CONSTANTLY fighting verbally and trying to control me, but I do NO exaggerate when I say there were constant fights on a daily basis, he always found something to attack me with or about, absolute petty shit.
This went on for 11 years, so he essentially demolished whatever confidence or spirit I had in me left. My therapist recently told me that I was in full out survivor mode for those years and that's why I feel like I've been robbed of those "great years" of my life.

Fast forward to today.
I lost my dog in 2014 - i was BEYOND devastated... had her 14 years and she really saved me, b/c i was ready to kill myself in 2003, but realized I couldn't do that and leave her with him.
The "sperm donor" died in 2015 - 19 YEARS TOO late...didn't shed a tear, f*ck him.