I don't understand and I want to.

HumanNOS

Learning
If I'm in the wrong place, forgive me, and direct me somewhere else. I am still new to all this, but I'm trying very hard to respect this group. Because right now, all you people that I don't know, are my biggest support system.

I've worked many years in therapy, CBT, EMDR to focus on issues I had as a kid. Because I was a kid and didn't give all the information, I was diagnosed with OCD (I believe my hypervigilant behavior (checking the stove was off, making sure the door was locked) was all they could go on, since I refused to tell them that my mother would constantly talk to me about killing herself (age6), I was never diagnosed with PTSD. It wasn't until the last two years that I have been "retraumatized" twice (suicidal daughter), to the point where my docs have put all the pieces together. I just recently accepted their diagnosis on a personal level, it was hard.

So my pdoc up'd my meds a bit. And you know what...I was feeling good. I had made my introduction here. I had been more productive. I felt better. And then yesterday was grocery day. I've never been agoraphobic but the anxiety blanket that laid down on top of me was heavy. And I did not know what to do with it. I don't understand what is going on in my brain. I didn't know what coping skills to use. I know logically that it wasn't an honest thought. But it didn't help. I did end up going just fine and getting home. But I was still just ashamed it had taken me so long to summon the courage.

I feel so lost and I haven't felt that in a very long time. I am the mother of three adopted special needs children. I am a fighter, intimidating and strong.