IFS questions

GreySouled

Learning
My T and I have been using IFS off and on for a few years, and it's really been the most helpful modality. Sometimes I'll be working with a smaller Part and instant body memories come up, or a problem in my day-to-day life gets resolved, etc. However, I'm wondering how much credence I should be giving to a Part when they're telling/showing/transmitting something to me.

One of my biggest struggles is not believing or wanting to believe a Part, especially when it comes to the identity of any abusers because I don't want to accuse the wrong person (even though the ones at the top of my suspect list are already known offenders/molesters).

In my memories, the perp remains unknown. Even the "scenes" and tiny blips that T and I choose to go in and work around/with, like this week for instance, the perp's whole body and face is obscured. This week it was hidden by a big frozen steam/bubble cloud (bathroom setting), but I could see the Part (smaller me) trying to get my aunt's attention to look in the bathroom to see what was happening. Now, the covered up perp could be her husband, my #1 suspect for a majority of the abuse, or her brother, another abuser whom she shared an apartment with as an adult.

Looking for anyone who can maybe give an example of how an IFS session(s) has helped them gain clarity or better understanding of a certain aspect of their trauma. When T tells me the questions to ask these Parts, I'll ask them over and over again in my mind before answering out loud just to make sure that the answers/images/transmissions they give me are and stay consistent, which they always do.

Any thoughts, experiences, clarity?

OliveJewel

MyPTSD Pro
Hi! My T was not trained in IFS, she learned about it from me, so that was not our main modality. She was trained in Transactional Analysis and the Psychodynamic process, which recognizes parts, but in a different way, so she fully accepted the concept.