Interacting with my Abuser

marie141078

New Here
I'm still new to all of this. I recently found out I had PTSD only a month or so ago when I kept having frequent panic attacks and major sleep issues after babysitting my siblings for 2 weeks straight since moving out. I am now regularly seeing a therapist and finding out things about myself I never once thought about. My mom is my abuser. She's always had a sort of hatred toward me since I was young. And, until recently, until finally moving out, I hadn't thought it was wrong. I simply thought that was just the way life should be. Of course, I can't cut ties with my mom because my siblings are still young and to interact with them, I have to go through her. She tries to be friendly now and it feels superficial. It feels off, unnatural, and I strangely don't like it at all. I look at her and all I can see is anger and fear, even when she's being nice. Now, I've been babysitting a lot and every time I come home, I feel empty. I feel like I betrayed her in some way. I don't know. My therapist told me when I'm in between sessions, maybe it would help to talk to others who are suffering similar issues, so here I am. Any advice please?

Friday

It probably sounds silly... but I can do almost anything, work with almost anyone, if I pretend I’m a spy.

Because they don’t get the real me. They get a working version of myself, who owes them no loyalty, no honesty, and no place in my heart. It uncomplicates a very complicated situation, by adding a metric shit ton of emotional distancing. Rather than draining me dry, leaving me either or in some combo of empty/zoned-out/dissociated/touchy/temperamental? Adding in that distance in advance of having to deal with them, it creates a cushion of energy/reserves.

woodsy1

Confident