• 💖 [Donate To Keep MyPTSD Online] 💖 Every contribution, no matter how small, fuels our mission and helps us continue to provide peer-to-peer services. Your generosity keeps us independent and available freely to the world. MyPTSD closes if we can't reach our annual goal.

Is all-or-nothing thinking part of ptsd?

Status
Not open for further replies.

freya

Confident
Is all-or-nothing thinking, or seeing things 'black and white' part of PTSD?

I'm fairly new to the diagnosis, and I am wondering about this.

Examples are: to make a small mistake and think that I am worthless and will never be able to function properly.
To react very strongly and feel completely broken over something that others may take more lightly. To feel utterly defeated by for example communication problems.

Freya

it is definately part of depression, which is thinking with your primitive fight or flight part of your brain which is hard wired by a traumatic event. So I believe it is, yes.

And i do it all the time! Trying to CBT myself out of this destructive thought pattern.

I have heard that thinking is part of PTSD and depression. Its called absolution. People with PTSD tend to see things "Black and white" with not a whole lot of grey. So yes, it is normal, using that word loosely.

When you thinbk of a negative thought..write it out and couteract it with a positive comment or more than one. Read over what you have written frequently and try to change the negative thinking to more appropriate positive...it is like changing your own internal dialogue.