• 💖 [Donate To Keep MyPTSD Online] 💖 Every contribution, no matter how small, fuels our mission and helps us continue to provide peer-to-peer services. Your generosity keeps us independent and available freely to the world. MyPTSD closes if we can't reach our annual goal.

Issues - Newly Diagnosed with PTSD

Status
Not open for further replies.

David

New Here
Issues

Hi all, I am still figuring out how to use this forum as I am new to computers. Basically I have been suffering PTSD for some time now but was only diagnosed with this 3 months ago. I think the diagnosis would have been sooner except I suffered in silence for a long time.
However my job of 20 years has slowly built up to this point. I looked through some old work diaries and have worked out that I have been to some 80 plus fatal motor vehicle accidents, 10 murders, numerous stabbings and violence and destruction were daily parts of the job.
I am currently on sick leave and see the pysch once a week. I have not made a decision one way or the other if I will return to work. My biggest question at the moment is; I can see how continuing with counselling will eventually help me cope with what has happened to me over 20 years but the problem is once I am healed how do I prevent this coming back especially if I return to work and re-enter the world of death and violence. So I suppose at the moment I cannot return until this mystery is answered.
In addition I sleep 3 to 4 hours of broken sleep a night and still cannot watch the news as little things trigger me off.
THanks for listening and this is my story.
David

Hi David,