Sufferer Looking again at how much PTSD still effects my life and I don't really know what my next step is in recovery.

KayW

Learning
PTSD was at its worst over 10 years ago now. My symptoms are very reduced and I function well in some areas of life. But I remain avoidant of close relationships and struggle with relationships with people that have authority over me, such as bosses or lecturors. Im currently studying peychology and counselling and as a recommendation of the course, Im back in tberapy. This has highlighted how much I rely on avoiding trauma or triggers to keep well. Its making me look again at how much PTSD still effects my life and I dont reallt know what my next step is in recovery.

arfie

MyPTSD Pro
hello kay. welcome to the forum.

i started psychotherapy around a quarter century before ptsd theories were being published. it was a few more years before my bipolar dx was changed to ptsd. i still use quite allot of the tools i learned in bipolar therapy. if i had waited until i knew what the next step would be before i got to work on improving my mental health, i'd probably have suicided a long, long time ago. the important part is to keep stepping. joining this forum is a mighty fine step toward figuring out the next step.

welcome aboard.

Friday

Welcome to the community!

Im currently studying peychology and counselling and as a recommendation of the course, Im back in tberapy. This has highlighted how much I rely on avoiding trauma or triggers to keep well.