• 💖 [Donate To Keep MyPTSD Online] 💖 Every contribution, no matter how small, fuels our mission and helps us continue to provide peer-to-peer services. Your generosity keeps us independent and available freely to the world. MyPTSD closes if we can't reach our annual goal.

Bipolar Maybe have bipolar disorder

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have been battling my depression really bad for the past several months. My therapist said she would like for me to be tested for bipolar disorder. She explained to me that she believes the trauma I have experienced has caused this. First of all, I had no idea trauma could do that. I thought it was something you were born with. Secondly, I know absolutely nothing about this disorder and it makes me feel worse. Knowing I have PTSD was hard to accept but adding this to it hurts because it was all caused by trauma. I get to deal with this because people could not keep their hands off of me. I feel like they are the ones winning and I am a big fat LOOSER. I am just venting and I really hope I do not offend anyone. I cannot talk to anyone in my family about this or my "friends". I guess I need to do some reading before I go back on tuesday to find out more about this.

I'd appreciate input on this as well as I've always heard you cannot simultaneously have PTSD and bipolar, yet there are some on the forum with both, or supporters who have a loved one who have been diagnosed with both.

There is the usual bipolar with depressive lows and manic highs. Then there is another bipolar with mainly depressive lows. I'm moody as hell and people have thought I was bipolar but I never possess mania. Do you have manic episodes?

Are you struggling with you moods? (I am guessing this is why your therapist is suggesting bipola...