• 💖 [Donate To Keep MyPTSD Online] 💖 Every contribution, no matter how small, fuels our mission and helps us continue to provide peer-to-peer services. Your generosity keeps us independent and available freely to the world. MyPTSD closes if we can't reach our annual goal.

Military Most Symptoms, No Real Trauma

Status
Not open for further replies.

GwenDR

Confident
I talked about it some in my welcome post, but I'm a Navy veteran. I never saw combat. I wasn't assaulted or abused. I wasn't exposed to anything everyone else wasn't. Nothing that's abnormal or outside normal life experience. I was closeted transgender, I performed miserably, I was yelled at almost every day for screwing up, I found the DC equipment horrifying to wear, especially the OBAs which cut off your ability to breath when you're running between air stations. But nothing unusual. I just couldn't take it. But other than criterion A, I arguably have at least one item in every other criterion (not necessarily the minimum number for all of them, though). I have major anxiety that keeps me stuck in the house. I miss school over it. I've avoided finding a job because I'm scared of being trapped around people and unable to go hide. I want to curl up into a ball around screaming. I'm suicidal off and on. I was definitely suicidal while in the Navy. But I shouldn't be this messed up from being around, at worst, a few bullies, and having to run a few ship drills. No real emergencies, ever. I did have a friend crushed to death in machinery, but I wasn't' even on the boat at the time. Another friend committed suicide a few months after I got out. But I wasn't a responder, wasn't around for either one.