• 💖 [Donate To Keep MyPTSD Online] 💖 Every contribution, no matter how small, fuels our mission and helps us continue to provide peer-to-peer services. Your generosity keeps us independent and available freely to the world. MyPTSD closes if we can't reach our annual goal.

My Husband is Having a Tough Time With My PTSD Right Now

Status
Not open for further replies.

trial'n'error

Confident
Hi all,
I am new to dealing with trauma because up until very recently, I have repressed memories of much of my trauma and denied it ever happened. For a while, my husband has thought I had multiple personalities or maybe was psychotic. I've had a hell of a time because my denial and other defense techniques were so tough that the most significant memories have had to cause huge disruptions in order to burst forth... sleep loss, rages, irrational behavior, paranoia, etc etc etc.

Now that the "truth" is coming out and I'm beginning to feel more relieved, my beloved husband is so weary. He really wants to support me but I'm scared that it's too much for hi - especially since it's taken years already to get to this point. For reasons beyond our control, our income is really low this month, so we can't afford for me to start back in therapy quite yet, so I've tried to hold everything in rather than burden him - a very costly strategy. It's resulted in a terrible bad vibe and irritability from me that I'm sure is even worse than dumping all my past crap on him.