• 💖 [Donate To Keep MyPTSD Online] 💖 Every contribution, no matter how small, fuels our mission and helps us continue to provide peer-to-peer services. Your generosity keeps us independent and available freely to the world. MyPTSD closes if we can't reach our annual goal.

Sufferer New Here, Not Sure What Category I Fit In But I Have A Life Story.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello. Please, call me Ash.

I'm new to this, and I'm not quite sure where on the scale I fall or which thread to focus on because I have several issues that I can't quite place or understand.

In my personal experience, seeing my therapist does not help much because my memories are so fragmented, there isn't enough time in a session to address the whole story, and meds have only ever made me worse. Often I find the only way I find peace is by speaking with others who have experienced similar things and can relate instead of saying that I worry or obsess too much over things I cannot control.

I am only 23 but my problems stem from a full lifetime of problems which have been bottled and suppressed to the point where I no longer know what to work through or focus on. Despite the loss of memories, I've pieced together quite an extensive timeline of events so I apologize in advance that this post is quite long.

So I suppose I should start from the beginning. I don't remember a lot of things, and my grandmother often tries to reassure me that my childhood had happy moments too, she shows me pictures and tells me stories but I only ever get flashbacks of the negative. My grandparents took me in when I was 10 years old, under circumstances I will explain, and they were essentially my parents. My Mother and Grandfather both passed away when I was 18 and I often struggle because I don't have anyone to ask questions to truly understand where my problems started.