• 💖 [Donate To Keep MyPTSD Online] 💖 Every contribution, no matter how small, fuels our mission and helps us continue to provide peer-to-peer services. Your generosity keeps us independent and available freely to the world. MyPTSD closes if we can't reach our annual goal.

Parts? Dissociation Confusion

Status
Not open for further replies.

daisydew

Learning
Just wondering if anyone has advice on this.

My therapist told me it sounds like I could have dissociated parts. I've been suspecting that for a couple years, so I'm not shocked. She's recently been referring to them as maybe functioning as separate people or even having their own names. Again, I've wondered about that, but hearing it from a professional is very confusing and stressful. If I do have parts, I don't know how to communicate with them at all. They don't really respond to notes I leave and usually don't speak in my head. Mostly, all I can do is "repress" them and keep them in and hidden.

I'm simultaneously very scared that this is real and I do have parts and scared it's not which would mean I'm just faking which I'd feel horrible about. I guess I'm just wondering if anyone has advice on getting through this part of healing/possible diagnosis. It's been very overwhelming recently.

I have DID. When I first got that diagnosis, I felt completely and utterly insane for quite a while. I think that's relevant to how I'm responding...if that helps at all!

Everyone has parts. Your doctor is a different person, with different language, dress sense, priorities etc when she's with you, than the person she is at home with hubby in private. That's an easy example.

Second? Everyone dissociates. Daydreaming? Is a form of dissociation.