• 💖 [Donate To Keep MyPTSD Online] 💖 Every contribution, no matter how small, fuels our mission and helps us continue to provide peer-to-peer services. Your generosity keeps us independent and available freely to the world. MyPTSD closes if we can't reach our annual goal.

Perfectionist Supervisor

Status
Not open for further replies.

mynameisvictory

Not Active
Okay, so I've been working at my current job for about seven months. It is a workplace that does not seem to like new employees, it likes to keep things the way it is and has always been.

Also, I grew up in a family where you weren't visible unless you were really, really "terrible" or really, really "good." I felt like I couldn't make mistakes or else it would lead to losing love. I was terrified of my mistakes being seen, of making them.

Fast forward -- my problem is with my supervisor and one of my co-workers (they are besties). Oh, how they seem to love it when I make mistakes! That's pretty much the only time that my supervisor talks to me. She never says I've done anything right, but when I mess up -- it's a big production.

My coworker, for instance, sent me a like four-paragraph long email rant today (after not speaking to me for over a month due to us working from home) about how the folder he was looking for was in the drawer next to the drawer it should have been in (due to something I mis-typed in the computer).

Whenever I say I don't understand something, my supervisor just tells me to study the manual or look on a website. Whenever I try to join their conversation like the rest of the people I work with (to get to know my coworkers), these two look at me like I'm stupid or say something rude to me -- and I end up walking away.