• 💖 [Donate To Keep MyPTSD Online] 💖 Every contribution, no matter how small, fuels our mission and helps us continue to provide peer-to-peer services. Your generosity keeps us independent and available freely to the world. MyPTSD closes if we can't reach our annual goal.

ADHD Possible ADD or Dislexia/Displaxia

Status
Not open for further replies.

Abstract

MyPTSD Pro
I'm unlikely to spend the money for a formal diagnoses as there are too many things in my life demanding the contents of my pockets and some I have been neglecting for a long time.I have been toying with doing this for the last 10 years but am now accepting am unlikely to do so. I know no one can diagnose me and am not expecting anyone to do so. What would be helpful is if it could be pointed out if a difficulty doesn't fit with one or the other of these, or both. I have had 2 friends with ADD and children with ADHD and who know me fairly well say they think this is an issue for me. Have had a friend who is a clinical psychologist say the same. A client and one of my previous therapists. Dyslexia has also been mentioned. If dyslexia is part of this then I suspect it doesn't affect me enough to be an actual diagnoses. I have found ways around many of the things I found hard. A lot of issues I had were due to dissociation but as the mist is clearing I am seeing a few other issues more clearly.

1. My mind doesn't stay on the rails and keeps going off the track at random times. In fact that is my normal state. 20 000 tributaries at any one time.
2. I have been doing a lot of writing recently and have realised I find it hard to go directly from a to b in a coherent way. There are always little asides, comments, other thoughts etc.
3. The grammar is hard to contain. Its not that I am totally ignorant but putting it in the right order is hard and time consuming. If I want it to read properly it takes time and energy. Things are back to front and upside down. It doesn't really match what I know.