• 💖 [Donate To Keep MyPTSD Online] 💖 Every contribution, no matter how small, fuels our mission and helps us continue to provide peer-to-peer services. Your generosity keeps us independent and available freely to the world. MyPTSD closes if we can't reach our annual goal.

Research REVISED, UPDATED: Recruiting Participants for Focus Group: $25 Gift card

• Thread starter Jennifer Castañeda
  • Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
J

Jennifer Castañeda

Hello all-

My name is Jennifer Castañeda and I am a doctoral student at The University of Texas at El Paso. I am currently pursuing a doctoral degree in health psychology and would like to use my research to advocate for those who have experienced or are at risk of experiencing trauma. Please see a description of the study I am conducting below. I thank you for your time.

The study will consist of a focus group for people over the age of 18 who identify themselves as trauma survivors and who are interested in sharing their experiences with health care services. Each focus group will have a limit of six participants. The group will specifically focus on the extent to which medical settings (e.g., emergency department, general practice, private/public hospitals, urgent care) recognize the impact of trauma and presence of trauma symptoms to provide quality care to trauma survivors. The focus group will not focus on personal accounts of trauma to protect other group participants from emotional and physical distress.

We aim to foster a safe environment for participants to discuss how the following components relate to their experiences during health care visits
  • Physical and emotional safety
  • Transparency and predictability of medical tasks and procedures
  • Patient choice and control during visit
  • Cultural, historical and gender recognition
  • Support from other trauma survivors
  • Collaboration, mutuality, and shared decision making between patients and providers