Sufferer Survivors guilt - I don’t know how to cope

Hi, I’m new to this. I don’t usually share about this particular feeling because no one around me would understand. Today is the day that my big bother would have turned 22…every year on his birthday and the anniversary of his death, I get so consumed with guilt. He died when he was a year old. My biological dad was abusive and I lost my brother to him. I have never felt this deep level of guilt then when I think about him. I think, “why couldn’t it have been me?” You know? “Why can’t he have been the one to live his life to the fullest?” My brother is half of my heart and I try every day to do my best to live my life for both of us but there are so many days where I just can’t and where I don’t want to live. There’s days I feel like I don’t deserve to be alive. I just want my brother back, I want us to switch places. I want him to be here, celebrating his big day and living his life. I wanted to celebrate today but my chest just feels so heavy, like a thousand weights just piling on top of my chest pushing down. I have no idea what to do or how to cope. He was the first person I loved that I lost and I still don’t know how to live or grieve or anything. I need help. I really need help. I’m afraid that I might do something that I can’t take back.

Movingforward10

MyPTSD Pro
I'm so sorry for your loss of you brother. And in the way that happened.

Do you have a therapist currently?

What usually helps you to get through these feelings?
Do you have someone to share this with, like friends or people close to you?

Aprilshowers

MyPTSD Pro
I hope you can follow my twisted thinking here. I totally get why you feel such deep pain. In fact, I think the pain you are suffering is different than most sisters would feel that had lost a brother. Why? Because you lost much more than a brother.