• 💖 [Donate To Keep MyPTSD Online] 💖 Every contribution, no matter how small, fuels our mission and helps us continue to provide peer-to-peer services. Your generosity keeps us independent and available freely to the world. MyPTSD closes if we can't reach our annual goal.

The Blame Game

Status
Not open for further replies.

keystonegirl

New Here
I don't get it. I really don't. Why is it when you love someone they just don't get it? I work in healthcare and I usually work nights. My boyfriend, soon to be husband seems to think the fact that I don't sleep at night on my days off is due to my PTSD. Really? I'm made to feel as though it's my fault this is occurring. He likes to blame everything he feels is wrong in our relationship on my PTSD. What a convenient excuse to use; for him. I have explained to him ad nauseam that I do have hypervigilance and sometimes it does intrude into our relationship. It's something that I've been working on for years to reduce the anxiety and stress I feel about it. He doesn't make it any better by constantly bringing it up. If anyone has any tips or suggestions on this topic, please let me know. Thanx so much for listening to me.

I’ve worked night shifts off & on for YEARS.

Best shift EVER when my kids were in elementary school… as I worked while they slept, came home & woke them up, morning madness, dropped them off… and then slept while they were in school. Woke up. Picked them up. Spent the afternoon/evening with them. Put them to bed. Went to work.

But?

A whole helluva lotta people are unable to wrap their minds around realities different from their own. I’m having a steak and a beer at 8am, not 8pm. Because that’s my dinner before bedtime. I’m staying up wicked LATE for the 11am soccer match on Saturday, and the parent teacher conference slot? Or doctors appointment? Or random whomever knocking on my door waking me up? Is my 2am.

Even though it wasn’t completely accurate, I just flipped the meridian for most people.