There Is One Trigger And Maybe A Dissociation That Seems Unmanageable

enough

MyPTSD Pro
I keep finding myself ready to physically attack bad drivers. I seldom get the opportunity, most of the time it is a bad pass and off they go or tailgate me until I find a block and turn off and go around or a nice widespot I can stop and check emails on and they are off to tailgate someone else. Pretty passive and I won't roadrage or chase, just curse and scare the crap out of my dogs or passengers (dogs mostly).

I was a first responder firefighter for a long time, but that has been years. I rode street bikes for a decade when I was young but stopped when I no longer saw bad drivers as a threat to my life but to the lives of the people I loved too. I have seen the results of bad driving many many times. Loaded helicopters and searched for missing body parts with a flashlight. I carry the weight and always will.

People willl think I am a ticking bomb, but I know that I am not going to blow until some hammerhead strikes my primer. Most people I am around would tell you I am a humorous outgoing and generous guy, they wouldn't recognize me when I am laying into a bad driver. Scary thing is I barely do.

I seldom get the chance, like I said it is usually an incident followed by a rapidly increasing distance, and i am good with that (after I calm the labs back down).

But, given a chance I will attack a bad driver with hopes that they will swing on me and I get to pummel them for it.

So far, no one has given me the opportunity. But back into me at a drive-through and I will be loud enough to gather witnesses and attack with obscenities designed purely to bring the response I seek. Just the slightest dumb move followed by accessibility and I go all pugilist on their asses.