• 💖 [Donate To Keep MyPTSD Online] 💖 Every contribution, no matter how small, fuels our mission and helps us continue to provide peer-to-peer services. Your generosity keeps us independent and available freely to the world. MyPTSD closes if we can't reach our annual goal.

Trying to decide if I should fire my therapist

Status
Not open for further replies.

HealingMama

MyPTSD Pro
She has the right training but is often tired by the time we meet. I think she can't remember that I'm also a therapist so she wastes time explaining things I already know. I often feel that maybe 10% of the session is helping me but it's still fairly early in the relationship so I don't know if my expectations are too high.

I can't decide if I'm genuinely not getting the value for the money (self pay over $100 an hour) or I'm sabotaging or playing out my attachment issues.

It might be worth wasting a session to tell her that you're thinking of firing her and why to see how she reacts.
I told her last time finances are tight and I might need to take a break. She said nothing until the very end of the session and didn't explore it at all really. I didn't tell her the rest of this just framed it as financial. I guess I could include the rest but then it's like I just feel really high maintenance. ?

I have a similar dilemma...little parts of me don't get why we need to switch T's.....protective parts say ditch her - and the part that realizes that making a trusting relationship doesn't happen over night and I'd have to tell my story ALL over again.....is reticent to make a T change. I decided to give it a go.....and look around.....without expectations......