1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Underplaying/hiding your knowledge

Discussion in 'Treatment & Therapy' started by 0smile0, Jun 14, 2018.

1. 0smile0

0smile0 Member

I am by no means an expert of the lit but I have read a few things on cptsd ptsd and general development stuff. So I know the general story of the theory. However I have never told my T any of this stuff and I am not so sure why...
    I asked her to lend me a book and then we mentioned it and talked about it but she just went on on one and in my head I am know this. I know I know I know. I managed to say oh I studied ptsd for a course and then she started talking about cptsd and it really annoyed me. I have a strong aversion to being told something I already know. We are starting to get in to parts work and I can see her trying to introduce me to the idea of talking to different elements of myself or parts and I found it difficult because I regress in age when that stuff comes up but then in my head I am like yes I get it and what you are proposing isn't wacky it makes sense. But of course she thinks I dont know about this stuff.

Fadeaway likes this.
  2. Register to participate in live chat, PTSD discussion and more.
  3. barefoot

barefoot I'm a VIP Premium Member Donated

I’m not sure what sort of replies you’re looking for here. Is it that you’re wanting a discussion because you’re wondering why you find it difficult to tell your T what you know? Or you’re wondering why you get annoyed with your T about this stuff? Or you’re looking for suggestions as to how to reveal more to your T? Or...?

It sounds to me that you are setting your T up a bit (not necessarily consciously - I don’t mean you are doing it on purpose or with any ill intent) Because, on the one hand:

While on the other:

So, you don’t tell her what you know/that you know something about the topic.
    She then tells you about it and explains stuff.