Sufferer validating memories

baisa

New Here
Hi all, this is my first time on any kind of PTSD forum, I'm kinda nervous about it. I was diagnosed with PTSD a few years ago, along with persistent depression. Depression was something I had lived with for a long time but the PTSD has been hard to wrap my head around. Even though I have been diagnosed by both a clinical psychologist and a psychiatrist, I struggle with classifying my experiences as traumatic. There is always a voice that interjects and tells me that what I experienced was not hard, or as bad as it could have been. For example, as a child, I lived in a violent asian country where community violence was normal. I have witnessed many beatings and violent exchanges but have never been hit or beaten myself. I have witnessed the death of children but have never been sick myself. My house burned down but I was not hurt. Food was scarce and I experienced scurvy but I did not starve. I was flashed and groped but never molested or sexually abused.

How do I embrace the memories and validate them? Even as I write this the voice is persistent in calling me crazy and idiotic for claiming I had a hard childhood.

Sideways

Welcome to the forum:)

I think a lot of us here relate to the "it wasn't that bad" voice. I certainly do. No problem at all identifying others' experiences as traumatic, but very hard to apply that same compassion to myself.

While working on self compassion is definitely a long term goal for me, at least dealing with a lot of the other symptoms of ptsd is something I can sink my teeth into, and make some real progress with. There's a lot of value in trauma-focused therapies for both those short term, and long term goals.

Friday

How do I embrace the memories and validate them? Even as I write this the voice is persistent in calling me crazy and idiotic for claiming I had a hard childhood.
PTSD isn’t about things being hard or bad.

Some of the worst things in life? Don’t cause PTSD.