What Does Dissociation Feel Like?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am told a lot by my therapist that I am dissociating, but I'm not quite sure how to recognize when I'm doing it on my own.

I worry that I'm "making it up" since I wonder in my head if how I feel is dissociation. I guess I think that if I am consciously wondering if that's what I'm doing, if that means I'm not doing it. Does that make sense?

Anyway, so I'm wondering what dissociation feels like to all of you and how you know that's what you're doing.

Thanks for your input.

For some people, dissociation is a form of blanking out, spacing out, getting lost in a semi-trance like state.

I may do this as well, but I also get a lot of time and space alteration when I dissociate. I am an artist, have been since I was young, and I also dissociate often when I work. (I'm told we all do to a degree. How else could you get through 8+ hours in a stamping factory, right?) And over the years I've learned to steer and direct some of my more voluntary dissociative states.