Why did it come back? Anxiety, nightmares, hyper-vigilance...

medic4355

New Here
OK so long story short I was a paramedic for 18 years both in the military and civilian life too. My career as a paramedic ended in 2009 when I broke 27 bones being blindsided by a big truck while I was driving. I spent 2 years learning to walk along with 3 years of PTSD counseling. Of course, we all know there is never another "normal" but for over 11 years I began to really get peace and have somewhat of a normal life. April 23 while pulling a 44-foot 5fifth wheel camper the kingpin broke in 1/2 and rolled over the side of my truck. Ever since then the anxiety is back with a vengeance, along with the nightmares and I am literally jumpy anytime someone approaches me. IT is not helping that I cant go back to work until the truck is fixed. Prayers, thoughts, ideas, and advice is welcome

joeylittle

Administrator
I'm really sorry that happened to you, @medic4355.

What I can tell you is that a traumatic experience - especially one that has similarities to your originating trauma - can re-activate PTSD symptoms. What you're experiencing is pretty normal, and it doesn't mean that you didn't do a good job of recovering the first time around - and, it doesn't mean that you are totally back where you started.

What kind of therapy helped you get through PTSD 11 years ago? Are there any tools that you learned then (to help manage symptoms) that could help you out now?

Friday

I did almost exactly this... so take a big “Dont be me” warning.

Took me about 5-7 years to unf*ck my head the first time round. Didn’t do it with therapy, just winged it, going after everything I didn’t like piece by piece. Read: I just went after symptoms, not root causes. I also f*cked up my life in rather spectacular fashion. Combat Marine > Contractor > Disaster Response... by this last piece I was mostly alright.

10 years virtually asymptomatic.