• 💖 [Donate To Keep MyPTSD Online] 💖 Every contribution, no matter how small, fuels our mission and helps us continue to provide peer-to-peer services. Your generosity keeps us independent and available freely to the world. MyPTSD closes if we can't reach our annual goal.

Would Love Some Advice!

Status
Not open for further replies.

RLH0918

New Here
Hello, my name is Rachael and I am a college student. I have been experiencing very bad health since the begining of January this year. Prior to my many symptoms I found out that my younger brother attempted suicide and was hospitalized for a few weeks. When I found out about this I was extremely shocked and did not really talk to anyone about it. Since that happened I have been chronically ill with tension headaches, depression, anxiety, panic attacks, fatigue, stomach upset, and the list goes on. I did not relate any of my symptoms to this experience, rather I have been from doctor to doctor being treated for thyroid dysfunction with medication that has only made me worse. Today I went back to the doctor again and he straight forward told me that he did not think there was anything physically wrong with me, rather I should see psychiatric help. He asked me if there had been a traumatic experience and I pretty much broke down telling him everything. Since January I unfortunately have found out that my parents are divorcing which has not helped my well-being. I was curious if my story sounds similar to PTSD or if maybe someone has another suggestion for me? I would greatly appreciate it! Thank you.

Hi Rachael,