• 💖 [Donate To Keep MyPTSD Online] 💖 Every contribution, no matter how small, fuels our mission and helps us continue to provide peer-to-peer services. Your generosity keeps us independent and available freely to the world. MyPTSD closes if we can't reach our annual goal.

Nurses - How to handle flashbacks in front of patients?

E

Ellie1974

Hi,

Im a nurse and have been experiencing flashbacks recently (not work related). Are there any other nurses that have advice on how to handle flashbacks in front of patients? can you still work?

Not a nurse, although I have a BSRN. Yes yes yes. Boards. They got delayed, and then some of my hard science prereqs aged out. And it's become a whole thing. Since I mostly work Disaster response, picking up my paramedic wold be faster/cheaper than post bacc'ing, although I honestly don't need either as trauma surgeons are so desperate for any hands on deck, they'll take any warm body that won't pass out or puke but can follow instruction.

POINT BEING??? (Having worked in hospitals & triage tents for years, both before/after school)

Nonchalance.

Quick blink, smile/shake myself off... and carry on.

It's like working with kids... you keep your stuff out of their sphere.

Once you know what to look for? (Depending on your specialty). You'll see about 2/3s of your colleagues (nurses, doctors, support staff) do. the. same. durn. thing.).

If you're going through a particularly difficult time? Ask to be transferred to a nursing unit (like surgical preadmit) that will give you a year or two to unf*ck your head/heart before returning to acute care.

Last edited:
I think it depends on a number of things. How far are you in your healing? Are you in therapy? What kind of patients do you work with and in what setting? What kind of flashbacks are you having?