• 💖 [Donate To Keep MyPTSD Online] 💖 Every contribution, no matter how small, fuels our mission and helps us continue to provide peer-to-peer services. Your generosity keeps us independent and available freely to the world. MyPTSD closes if we can't reach our annual goal.

Sufferer New here—spouse on ASD spectrum cannot meet emotional needs

J

Jennhopes4more

Hi. New here. I have a lot of trauma—raised by severely mentally ill mother who meets psychopathy criteria (I work in the field so, I know and my previous providers have endorsed that ‘unofficial, but if I were to make a guess’ diagnosis). Myself, diagnosed with OCD and GAD. Not formal (or so I’ve been told) but highly suspected, CPTSD. Married to the man of my dreams in so many ways but this big one: his Autism impacts his emotional range, emotional reciprocity, and affective empathy (cognitively, he gets it and I feel that support). But he doesn’t “get it”. I don’t have friends, as I find it hard to trust people, and the closest thing I had to friends have both moved out of state and are off living their best lives. Actually, that’s inaccurate. I still speak to my childhood best friend, who, because my mother is so ill but also, so intensely manipulative, that he has no idea of who she is. No one does by me, my Autistic mother, my father, my step-mother, and my “step-father figure. So, it’s kind of a mind f*ck cause he will talk so kindly about her, how nice she is to him, how much he loves her…but, I digress.