• 💖 [Donate To Keep MyPTSD Online] 💖 Every contribution, no matter how small, fuels our mission and helps us continue to provide peer-to-peer services. Your generosity keeps us independent and available freely to the world. MyPTSD closes if we can't reach our annual goal.

Sufferer Unusual Story With Dark History

• Thread starter Deleted member 35429
  • Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
D

Deleted member 35429

Introduction of me and my PTSD... The twists and turns of this saga are bizarre but I'll try and sum it up here.

I graduated college, went to grad school, got married, became a competitive runner, mountain climber, equestrian, martial artist, developed a strong career, had kids, and overall lived a great life in a great area. Then one day out if the blue I developed an ominous pain and swelling in my neck. This went on for many months and started to feel like there was so much pressure on my throat that I couldn't breathe. I wouldn't go to the doctor because on some very subconscious level I knew the origin of this was very dark and I just couldn't face it... and I knew everyone in our medical community. I didn't want them or my husband to find out what had happened to me.

I eventually was hit like a ton of bricks with PTSD and couldn't function at all. I could hardly talk. Memories of an 18month period of violent sex abuse with strangulation from my adolescent years were coming to the surface in a terrifying physical way. My body was remembering every second of it on a very cellular level but I couldn't really remember all the details of what happened to me. I could hear my own screaming inside my head - non stop auditory hallucinations/flashback for months. It was so exhausting.