• 💖 [Donate To Keep MyPTSD Online] 💖 Every contribution, no matter how small, fuels our mission and helps us continue to provide peer-to-peer services. Your generosity keeps us independent and available freely to the world. MyPTSD closes if we can't reach our annual goal.

The fine line between doing too little (under-functioning/ non-functioning) and doing too much (over-functioning/ burnout)

Ecdysis

MyPTSD Pro
Sigh... So before this episode of major depression, I was working way too much (60-hour work weeks) and ended up with burnout. I've been under-functioning or non-functioning for a few years now.

I'm desperately trying to get out of it atm, because I've been so badly non-functioning for months that it's starting to seriously destroy my life atm and I was starting to run the risk of homelessness, bankruptcy and similar crap, due to being so non-functioning.

I'm still struggling with that badly, but have been getting a bit more done this past week, but I quickly cross the line and become over-functioning... I mean, I'm still doing less than a normal/ healthy person, but I'm definitely using up more spoons than I have... It's like I go on auto-pilot and try to do "more" so I can dig myself out of this messy hole I've gotten myself into.

It's like I go from the freeze survival response (laying paralysed, inactive, trying to make predators think I'm already dead so they'll pass me by) to the fight/ flight survival response and try to "do" things to make sure I'll "survive".

Why is that healthy middle ground so hard to find? Doing a sane/ healthy amount of things that are helpful and trying to stay authentic and trying to fit some actual joy into my days too.

Why is that healthy middle ground so hard to find? Doing a sane/ healthy amount of things that are helpful and trying to stay authentic and trying to fit some actual joy into my days too.