• 💖 [Donate To Keep MyPTSD Online] 💖 Every contribution, no matter how small, fuels our mission and helps us continue to provide peer-to-peer services. Your generosity keeps us independent and available freely to the world. MyPTSD closes if we can't reach our annual goal.

Unfulfilled And Underachiever - Have Low Self Confidence & Strong Core Beliefs Limited You?

Sinkhole89

New Here
Underachiever and unfulfilled

I just wondered if people with low confidence and pretty strong core beliefs around not being good enough have hindered your ability to realise your potential.

I have been working on myself for over 10 years now (I am 33) but I seem to be shuffling forward and I still feel like in life I am not reaching my potential. I hold a pretty junior role for my age with most of my peers 5-10 years younger then me. I really struggle with confidence and social anxiety at work that add to this but I just don't think my qualifications and experience match my the seniority. I have been working in my field for about 8 years with one promotion and alot of that as to do with not being able to put myself out there I don't think it's my ability. But key to ability is social confidence which is a skill I don't have.

For context I went to a good uni got the internship did the travelling and now I just feel stuck and unfulfilled and like I am underachiever. It's something that really grinds my confidence daily to the point I don't like telling people my age. I feel ashamed of my position in life and it's really getting me down. It also effects my relationship with my partner because I am essentially constantly saying our life isn't good enough.

This seems to be my nemis and pretty sure is a result of my core beliefs. I just feel stuck and like I am less then. This has haunted me and undermined my happiness for years now. It feels like an additional burden along with the flashbacks, toxic shame and general levels of low self esteem.